Skillet Roasted Amaranth Granola

Homemade Granola - 2

I am someone who is frantic about working with temperatures of the oven, partially to blame it on the burnt baking attempts in the past, but more so about having patience with baking. πŸ˜› So, I usually avoid baking, but that doesn’t stop me from baking Β the occasional plain marble cakes if in a good mood. Granola’s have been on my to-do list for long. Trust me I have sooooo many recipe’s bookmarked and pinned sitting right there to be tried with all the fancy ingredients. πŸ˜€ I have been looking forward to make it the easier skillet way, which doesn’t test a whole lot of my patience and all it takes is 15 minutes to make, from the start to the end. Yes! 15 minutes is all you need for this crunchy recipe. πŸ™‚

The husband man loves his cereals more than his wife! Well, yes he does! πŸ˜€ Β Hence, I wanted to make this little healthier version replacing the store bought ones loaded with sugar and additives. So, with a handful of healthy ingredients I made this small batch of the homemade Skillet Roasted Amaranth Granola’s. Okay not amaranth entirely, it also has that secret ingredient (oats) that N hates the most, see I told you I got ways to sneak in those ‘I so hate it’ list into the ‘I so love it’ ones. πŸ˜€

Then why amaranth you may ask? I bought this big packet of the organic amaranth grains and happily forgot about it which were whining to be used. After, the popped amaranth trials in the smoothies, they made their way into this delicious granola. Amaranth are a new age super-food having the highest amount of proteins, which are easily digestible compared to the milk proteins. More so, the popped amaranth also adds a crunchy texture. It makes for a wonderful snack btw.

Homemade Granola - 3

I used the basic gluten-free ingredients in hand – old fashioned rolled oats (made from 100% whole grains), popped amaranth, flavored it with a wee bit of cinnamon and organic toasted coconut chips (that I got from our Bali trip a while ago), sweetened with negligible amount of organic honey, all tossed together and roasted in organic virgin coconut oil. I avoided using any other nuts, so we can add later as and when required while including it in our brekkie.

Homemade Granola - 4

You can add any nuts or dried fruits (like blueberry or cranberry) if you like to. The toasted coconut chips adds an extra zing to the granola. If you are visiting Indonesia, do not forget to pick up these organic coconut chips / flakes, along with the raw cacao beans, and cashews with the skin as the food souvenirs. They are absolutely sinful! πŸ™‚ Oh! I have a whole lot of other things on my pick-me up list, which I will share later in a separate post. πŸ™‚

Homemade Granola - 1

Coming back to the skillet roasted granola, just mix everything in a big bowl, pan roast on medium heat and when it starts releasing its nutty aroma its ready. Its that’s simple! πŸ™‚

Serves: 2

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Rolled Oats (I used Quaker)
  • 1/2 cup Popped Amaranth
  • 1/2 cup Toasted Coconut Chips
  • 2 tablespoons Organic Honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon Powder
  • 1 tablespoon Organic Virgin Coconut Oil
  • 1 fat pinch of Sea Salt
  • Dried Fruits – Cranberry / Blueberry (optional)
  • Nuts (optional)

Method

  • Take a big bowl add all the ingredients mentioned and toss well.
  • Heat a heavy bottomed skillet on medium heat, add the granola mix and keep sauteing until everything is toasted well.
  • Once, the granola starts releasing the nutty aroma, turn off the heat.
  • Cool completely, before storing it into the jar.

Note: You can alternatively, roast the rolled oats and popped amaranth first before mixing the rest of the ingredients if you want a little darker colored granola. The coconut chips gets toasted really fast.

Leave a Reply

